The College of Arts and Sciences offers students a traditional liberal education to meet the needs of the 21st century, allowing them to compete for a variety of careers in an increasingly complex and evolving world.

Research Mentors

 
Advisor E-mail Address Office Phone Research Area
Biology  
Dr. Pete Haddix phaddix@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 311B 244-3333 Cell growth, energy and pigment production in the bacterium Serratia marcescens
Dr. Rosine Hall rhall@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 016 244-3739 Forest ecology and plant demographics
Dr. Tim Kroft tkroft@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310P 244-3331 Genetics of fertilization using the nematode C. elegans as a model
Dr. Chelsea Ward cward3@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310E 244-3317 Toad immunology as it relates to environmental stressors
         
Chemistry  
Dr. Steve Arnold sarnold@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310J 244-3328 Ultraviolet-visible absorption and fluorescence spectroscopy
Dr. John Hutchison jhutchi4@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 309M 244-3522 Synthesis of natural product derivatives for the discovery of new biologically active compounds
Dr. Daniel Kim dkim@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310H 244-3329 Application of ultrasound in chemical systems
Dr. Randy Russell rrussell@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310D 244-3323 Boundary layer meteorology
Dr. Geetha Thangiah gthangia@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 309N 244-3336 Biochemical pathways connected to the development of Diabetes and Alzheimer’s disease using cell culture and Western Blot analysis
Dr. Nick Thomas nthomas@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310I 244-3327 Synthesis of organometallic complexes of Ruthenium
Communication and Theatre        
Dr. Hilary Gamble hgamble@aum.edu Liberal Arts 223F 244-3359 Media effects
Dr. Silvia Giagnoni sgiagnon@aum.edu Liberal Arts 223C 244-3358 Immigration studies; media and cultural studies; film studies; cultural theory; media criticism; feature writing
Dr. Matthew Killmeier mkillmei@aum.edu Liberal Arts 223D 244-3950 Media history, film, critical-cultural media theory, and journalism criticism and analysis
         
English and Philosophy
Dr. Robert Evans revans@aum.edu Liberal Arts 341 244-3394 Literary theory, literary criticism, literary history
Dr. Jason Gray jgray19@aum.edu Liberal Arts 360 N/A Free will and moral responsibility, death and philosophy, philosophical analyses of addiction
Dr. Darren Harris-Fain dharrisf@aum.edu Liberal Arts 336 244-3489 American novel, science fiction and fantasy, comics and graphic novels
Dr. Seth Reno sreno@aum.edu Liberal Arts 359A 244-3384 19th-century British literature, ecocriticism, science and literature studies, affect studies
         
Fine Arts        
Email Dr. Rick Robertson for information: rroberts@aum.edu
         
History and World Languages & Cultures
Email Dr. Tim Henderson for information: thender1@aum.edu
       
Mathematics and Computer Science  
         
Dr. Tianran Chen tchen1@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310A N/A Numerical algebraic geometry with applications in physics and engineering
Dr. Yue Chen ychen5@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310S 244-3261 Homogenization Theory of Partial Differential Equations, Multiscale Analysis, Stability Analysis of Crystal Growth
Dr. Luis Alberto Cueva-Parra lcuevapa@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310B 244-3321 a) Multi-scale multi-physics modeling and simulation of physical and chemical phenomena. b) High Performance Computing
Dr. Jerome Goddard II jgoddard@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 213B 244-3023 Population modeling using differential equations
       
Psychology  
Email Dr. Bridgette Harper for information: bharper3@aum.edu