The College of Arts and Sciences offers students a traditional liberal education to meet the needs of the 21st century, allowing them to compete for a variety of careers in an increasingly complex and evolving world.

Biology Advising

 

Advising Tips

1. You will need to be advised each term in order to receive the "alternate PIN" number that will allow you to register for classes using WEBSTER.
2. Make an advising appointment early - October for Spring term, March for Fall and Summer terms. Then when registration opens, you'll be ready to go!
3. Please be aware that you need to make an appointment to see the appropriate advisor listed below and this is best done by email.
4. Include in your email specific information about what days and times of day you can meet with your advisor and any general questions that you may have.
5. Your advisors are here to help you schedule the classes you need to earn your degree and prepare for the next step in your career. But ultimately, this is your degree - you are responsible for the choices you make and the courses you sign up for. Know your degree program and requirements, and keep track of your progress.

All students with less than 45 credit hours are advised in the College of Arts and Sciences Advising Center.

Biology-Secondary Education
This includes Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, and Senior Students. Bring your file from the education advising office with you to your appointment.  
Dr. Sue Thomson, 203B Goodwyn Hall, 244-3275, sthomson@aum.edu

Biology minors, second degree (in biology), double major (biology is the secondary major), dual degree (one major in biology) and biology majors that don’t fit into any of the below areas (biology majors only).  
Dr. Sue Thomson, 203B Goodwyn Hall, 244-3275, sthomson@aum.edu

Biology Degree Concentrations
All students with less than 45 hours (in their first 3 semester) are advised in the College of Arts and Sciences Advising Center. Students with more than 45 hours (second semester sophomores, junior and seniors) will see the following advisors:

Biology Health Sciences Concentration (BIHS)
 are advised by Ms. LaTora Jackson in the College of Arts and Sciences Advising Center (ltodd@aum.edu) and by a faculty member in the department.  Faculty advisors are assigned alphabetically by last name:

(A-G) Dr. Tim Kroft, 310T Goodwyn Hall, tkroft@aum.edu
(H-M) Dr. Pete Haddix, 311B Goodwyn Hall, phaddix@aum.edu
(N-Z) Dr. Ben Okeke, 310V Goodwyn Hall, bokeke@aum.edu

For more information see the pre-health sciences page.

General Biology (BIGN)

Dr. Chelsea Ward, 310E Goodwyn Hall, cward3@aum.edu

Molecular Biology (BIMB)

Dr. Tim Kroft, 310T Goodwyn Hall, tkroft@aum.edu

Public Health & Microbiology (BIPH)

Dr. Pete Haddix, 311B Goodwyn Hall, phaddix@aum.edu. Students interested in Medical Microbiology and Public Health should see Dr. Haddix.
Dr. Ben Okeke, 310V Goodwyn Hall, bokeke@aum.edu. Students interested in Applied Microbiology and Environmental Microbiology should see Dr. Okeke.

Environmental Science Degree Concentrations

Environmental Science and Chemistry (ECHM)
Environmental Science and Biology (ENBI)
Environmental Science Geographic Information Systems (EGIS)
Environmental Science Health and Toxicology (ENHT)
Dr. John Aho, 015 Life Sciences Annex, jaho@aum.edu 
Dr. Rosine Hall, 016 Life Sciences Annex, rhall@aum.edu
Dr. Karen Stine, 209J Goodwyn Hall, kstine@aum.edu

For other questions on advising, contact the Biology Departmental Office, 301 Goodwyn Hall, 244-3316.